Steve Barnes – New Day

Steve barnes - New DaySteve Barnes – New Day (AD68DCDr) – Out Now.

“New Day” is an exquisite contemporary instrumental music album from Steve Barnes, better known for his Trance music during the 1990’s. His debut release for AD Music is a superbly produced and very smooth excursion into romantic new age style electronica that may be a long way from his former Trance/Dance music days, but as you would expect, has all the hallmarks of a seasoned composer and producer who knows how to construct a tune and convey the emotion and atmosphere required to keep the listener interested.

“New Day” contains 11 tracks of soothing and drifting electronica that features superbly played piano and acoustic guitar themes over the most chilled of rhythms. There is a warmth here that is almost sensual; melancholy yet uplifting; contemplative yet always involving; beautiful but not sugary. “New Day” is one of those albums that will be on repeat play as you discover the wonderful depth and subtlety in Steve’s emotional and dreamlike music. The delicate, melodic piano themes are infectious and will gently caress you, putting you under a spell that will find you gently tapping your feet as the chilled rhythms come in to play. Whilst there are clearly nods to the likes of Mike Oldfield, Ludovico Einaudi and Debussy, “New Day” remains an original album with a clear identity that is both beautiful and incredibly rewarding.

Should also appeal to fans of the more melodic electronic music.

Track Listing:

1.  Watching Clouds – 5:18
2.  Distant Storm – 4:43
3.  Birds in Flight – 4:38
4.  New Day – 5:01
5.  The Hills – 5:19
6.  Falling Leaves – 4:29
7.  The Meadow – 4:45
8.  Still Waters – 4:26
9.  Lullabye – 3:48
10. A Snow Scene – 4:11
11. Reflections – 4:28
Available as a digital download (256kbph) with artwork. Can also be provided on CDr from the AD Music online store.

~ by admusic on February 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: